Skip to content
Kenemike's profile

New Contributor

• 

7 Messages

Monday, June 24th, 2019 7:00 AM

How to route static ip block through router to virtual machines in VMWare.

As a network administrator, I want to route traffic directed to my static ip addresses to virtual machines running on a VLAN using Virtual Switch Tagging.

1. My MTA running on a virtual machine on a VLAN can deliver mail outside of my local network.
  2. My MTA running on a virtual machine can recieve mail from a MTA that is outside of my local network.

Additional information.

I already have a static ip setup to allow a VPN connection to my router and I have done this a couple of ways, both of which work.

Configure my router with a static ip from my static ip block.

Counfigure my router with a local ip and configure my Comcast Business router to use NAT to translate an external ip to my internal router ip.

My problem is that on my LAN, i configured a VLAN that is effectively my DMZ.  From my router, I use NAT to translate an external ip a host on my VLAN and this works fine. However, I can't configure the Comcast Business router to route an external ip to my router. 

External CIDR block: a.b.c.94/29

Comcast Business Router ip: a.b.c.94

Static Block: a.b.c.93 - a.b.c.89

Router WAN ip: a.b.c.93

Router LAN CIDR: w.x.y.z/24

VLAN: 101

VLAN CIDR: h.i.j.k/24

VLAN Gateway: h.i.j.1

With this setup, NAT is configured on internal router so a.b.c.89 translates to h.i.j.100 with no problem from LAN, evidenced via ping. When going outside my network I can't ping  a.b.c.89.  However, I can ping my Comcast Business router at a.b.c.94, and I can ping my internal router at a.b.c.93.  So it seems that I need to route external ips from my Comcast Business router to my internal VLAN host.  I am at a loss on how to do this.

Please advise.

Accepted Solution

Official Employee

• 

128 Messages

5 years ago