Skip to content
Joel_williams's profile

• 

1 Message

Saturday, March 21st, 2015 10:00 AM

New to Static IPs

Hello, I am new to having multiple IP addresses and simply want to know how to give my work computer one WAN IP address and the rest of the stuff connected to the gateway another WAN IP address ... [snip]

EDIT: I think I understand now that I don't need to change anything on the Gateway setup. I was able to successfully configure one of my static IP's to my work computer. But I think I have another problem.

I read on another forum that If I assign the public IP directly to the computer, I've basically removed any kind of firewall protection the gateway/router provides. Does that sound correct? And the solution to this would basically be to plug a router into the gateway, assign the public IP to that router instead, and then plug the work computer into the router?

Any advice is appreciated.

Advocate

• 

1.4K Messages

10 years ago

Hello Joel_williams and welcome,

If you have purchased and are using 1,5, or 13 block staticIP(s) then you should not have any security issues at all. Please see my comments to your ? below.

'  I read on another forum that If I assign the public IP directly to the computer, I've basically removed any kind of firewall protection the gateway/router provides. Does that sound correct?