Skip to content
Bradipo's profile

Contributor

• 

29 Messages

Monday, August 5th, 2019 7:00 AM

How to get /28 routed like a business class L3 IP Service?

Hello,

I've been trying to work with Comcast Support on getting the /28 allocated to my company to be routed to my equipment and it's like I'm talking a different language.  It is customary for IP services to be routed to CPE via a small /30 where the ISPs router and the CPE share 2 IPs and then the /28 is routed to the CPE, however, either due to incompetence or lack of interest, I have been unable to get Comcast to route the /28 to my CPE.  Is there anything that can be done?  Do I need a different modem/router from Comcast?  Do I need a different ISP?  I am an experienced network administrator and have never had a problem with any ISP setting up correct L3 routes for delivering customer rented IP blocks to CPE.

Thanks,

Bradipo

Accepted Solution

Official Employee

• 

526 Messages

5 years ago

Thanks so much for all of the details. It sounds like you have a small business account with us. As such your static IPs will not work in bridge mode. Your modem does have this capability. With static Ip's we doe set the modem in a passthrough mode and you will then program your useable static IP's to your external devices for use. I can review the account and ensure that the passthrough is set up correctly and the static's are provisioned correctly on the modem if you could supply the account information through private message to protect the security of your account. 

Advocate

• 

1.1K Messages

5 years ago

Good morning, Bradipo and welcome to the business forums.