Skip to content
Goldsound's profile

New problem solver

• 

8 Messages

Friday, January 16th, 2015 6:00 AM

VOIP Delay...traffic marking for Qos?

We use a VOIP phone system from Mitel called MiCloud. Since day one, August of 2014, the delay we experience on phone calls has been awful. I have set up Qos settings on my router but it has not made a difference. Mitel has asked me to check with Comcast to see if they can "mark" traffic for us in order to truly priortize our phone traffic. I'm not sure calling the 800 number would get me the answer so I am hoping somone here is knowledgable enough to assist us....

They have stated that the following settings are necessary on the ISP side to achieve minimum delay over our phones...

DSCP signaling - 26

DSCP voice - 46

DSCP other - 46

L2 priority voice - 6

L2 priority signal - 6

L2 priority other - 6

I'm not an expert in this area and would really appreciate any help in solving this...I signed us up for Comcast Business in the hopes that it would do all we needed for our new phone system, please help reassure me that I made the right choice!

Accepted Solution

New problem solver

• 

8 Messages

10 years ago

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I already have the VOIP system behind a QoS capable router with a public IP address, but the router is behind the Comcast gateway.

We're using the Comcast connection for all our internet needs as well....

Are you saying I need to ditch the Comcast gateway all together and buy a modem that also supports Qos? 

Accepted Solution

New problem solver

• 

16 Messages

10 years ago

If your Comcast modem is in passthrough mode and you are using your own router, it sounds like you are already setup how Comcast_John was recommending. If you are not in passthrough mode and are using double NAT, that would be the first thing to correct.