Skip to content
fgodfrey's profile

New Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Wednesday, April 23rd, 2014 1:00 PM

No IPv6 until there's no more IPv4?!?!

I just called support to find out when I'd be able to get an IPv6 allocation on my existing Comcast Business service since the trial is now closed.  I was informed that Comcast would not issue IPv6 addresses until all IPv4 addresses were allocated and then they'd switch.

Except, of course, I (and I'll guess most other people) don't want to *switch* from IPv4 to IPv6, I want dual stack, which Comcast Residential customers in my area already have.  comcast6.net claims that my area is IPv6 ready.

I do network development for a living and it would sure help if I had native IPv6 in my home office.

Is that really the answer or was my service person just misinformed?

Accepted Solution

Problem solver

• 

117 Messages

10 years ago

"Is that really the answer or was my service person just misinformed?"

I would expect "just misinformed", but it would be nice to hear a response from Comcast on this.

Advocate

• 

1.9K Messages

10 years ago

Hi xz4gb8.  While the IPv6 trial is closed to new participants, IPv6 for Business customer is still in the test phase.  At this time we do not have a confirmed roll out date for Business Customers.

Thank You

New problem solver

• 

21 Messages

10 years ago

Is there a reason why Res customers  are able to have it now, and the bus customers are still testing?

Is it a reliability  issues or something else. Is the backbone of the bus side on a whole another system?

Is it they want it to work a certain way vs res customs.

It will help us and  other  unstand why they are waiting for the test to finish.

Contributor

• 

15 Messages

10 years ago

There's a few, but a short summary would be that business customers have slightly different, higher, harder to meet, requirements:

- static ipv4, which requires a different modem than residential [*]