Skip to content
Chamber_Geek's profile

Visitor

• 

2 Messages

Saturday, May 10th, 2014 8:00 AM

Issues between SMCD3G-CCR & Netgear FVS318N

I recently switched out Firewalls at our business. I replaced a Netgear 318v3 with a FVS318N. Sadly, the past Admin did not keep record of the user/password for the old firewall, so I couldn't see how they had the settings.

Since the switch, the internet does work fine. 5x the speeds, etc. BUT I cannot RDP in anymore. We had one computer that We remote into on a regular basis. Now I can't even remote manage the Netgear Firewall even though remote management is active in the Netgear firewall settings.

I've spent hours trying to figure it out. I'm not an expert at networking, so it's a bit of a learning curve. I need help. I want to make sure everything is set up correctly on the Comcast side of our network before I start a conversation with Netgear support. Help please.

Advocate

• 

1.4K Messages

10 years ago

Hello Chamber_Geek and welcome,

So, you have now have the really nice FVS318N (F318N) connected to your SMCD3G (SMD3) making a nice networking foundation. Please let us know some of your additional inter-networking information as follows:

1. Are you using a Comcast StaticIP programmed within your  F318N WAN configuration? This is absolutely necessary in the interest of best practices, along with insuring maximum security?

2. Do you have your SMDC internal DHCP server disabled? Again, in order to use your F318N for backend DHCP control, WIFI VPN control, etc. , this is mandatory.