Skip to content
JimD's profile

Recognized Contributor

• 

29 Messages

Monday, September 14th, 2020 2:00 PM

Cisco Modem Losing Upstream Lock

We upgraded our service back in July and that upgrade required our modem to be replaced. Now, I've been battling this for 2 months now....

Every day the modem loses it's upstream bond and eventually restarts on it's own to start the ranging process again. This is not acceptable, especially when we are trying to process a credit card transaction and the customer must wait up to 10 minutes while the modem reconnects.

The service techs have replaced the cable coming to our building as well as the modem itself, but it still continues.

If there is some way this could be escalated to be traced at the head end or farther down the line, it would be appreciated.

sept14_435.pngsept14ranging.png

Log of outages:

Monday August 3rd - 1:20pm
Tuesday August 4th - 1:30pm
Thursday August 6th - 1:51pm
Thursday August 6th - 6:30pm Reboot for unknown reason
Monday August 10th - 12:33pm
Tuesday August 11th - 6:39pm
Thusday August 13th - 8:17pm
Friday August 14th - 2:18pm

============================
Saturday August 15th - Service tech
Checked cable by modem
Installed filter on TV cable side
Said to disconnect TV cable if still happening
Said now on device watch

Monday August 17 - 3:14pm
Tuesday August 18 - 5:11pm
Wednesday August 19 - 1:01pm (removed TV cable)
Monday August 24 - 1:07pm
Tuesday August 25 - 1:11pm (removed splitter - cable now direct to outside)
Wednesday August 26 - 1:30pm
Wednesday August 26 – 2:51pm
Thursday August 27 - 1:43pm (called - recording said work completed recently - restarted modem[unplugged/plugged back in] as instructed)
Friday August 28 - 1:50pm (called - agent rebooted remotely - told there are a lot of outages in area)
Saturday August 29 - 2:19pm (called - 25 to 30 minute wait - hung up)
Sunday August 30 - 10:45am
Monday August 31 - 4:55pm (called - setup service call)
Tuesday September 1 - 5:00pm