Skip to content
ed-todd's profile

New Contributor

• 

4 Messages

Saturday, February 13th, 2016 9:00 PM

SIP Protocol, DPC 3941B

I went over to Comcast Business a few days ago to get a static IP address for my SIP server and am having problems: I am a developer producing an industry specific VoIP package.

My old modem (DPC 3008) and router (TP Link WR1043-ND) did the job fine, but with temporary/internal IP address.

When I swap the cables and change the IP addresses, I get various errors. Address in use problems, links left enabled and 'no answer' messages from SIP.

I mentioned what I was trying to do when I placed the order and was not warned of this sort of problem. So what is the solution: any answer that stops my SIP server working is not acceptable.

Gold Problem solver

• 

610 Messages

9 years ago

My hunch is that the DPC3941B has one of those notorious "SIP ALGs" (application layer gateways) that needs to be disabled. Unfortunately, since the Cisco is a Comcast-controlled device, there may not be much you can do. Try going to http://10.1.10.1 and logging in with username=cusadmin password=highspeed, and browse around and look for an option to disable SIP ALG.

New Contributor

• 

4 Messages

9 years ago

A little more explanation.

Devices:

1. DPC3941B
  2. DPC3008
  3. TP Link WR1043-ND
  4. PC running Windows 10 and VoIP control application
  5. IPhone running VoIP client application
  6. PC running Debian Linux and KAMailIO server

Object:

PC must be able to (via an IPhone) monitor, view operator and carry out control operations on other devices not part of the VoIP application.

Connection is made by the IPhone and shows on the PC screen, along with audio and video of operator at appropriate times.

Test Scenarios:

The original scenario is before I switched to Comcast Business.