Equipment (Modems,Gateways)

Putting Netgear CG3000DCR Bridge mode without Static IP

SOLVED
ojosdelgato
Visitor

Putting Netgear CG3000DCR Bridge mode without Static IP

I'm trying to figure out what I can do for my situation. Comcast Business gave me a Netgear CG3000DCR modem. I'm a web designer and integrate clients ebay, paypal, etc to there websites. In the past I would just change my IP address to keep client accounts separate. With residential Comcast I was able to just change my  router Mac Address to get a new IP address. I'm trying to figure if I can do this with Business Comcast. I called to get the Netgear router bridged.  The rep said he could bridge my Modem but I would have to buy a static IP. I also ordered a Motorola Surfboard 6121. I was also told that if I use another modem I would have to get a Static IP. Either way a static IP doesn't help me. What are my options regarding this.

ojosdelgato
Visitor

Re: Putting Netgear CG3000DCR Bridge mode without Static IP

guess no reply here

Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi ojosdelgato.  The Netgear can be placed in bridge mode. Comcast does not utilize fixed static IP address on bridged devices. By placing the Netgear device in bridge mode all router functions are disabled, giving you the same functionality provided by the Motorola 6121.

Kwisatz
New Contributor

Is the motorola 6141 supported?

Trusted Forum Contributor

Hello Kwisatz,

The SB6141 is a supported Comcast customer owned modem. However, Comcast does not support any Comcast Static IPs on any non-rented Comcast Internet modem. The only Comcast maintainabiliity or serviceability support on any customer owned modem would be to insure the correct Comcast boot file was being loaded for the actual Internet Tier speed purchased. 

Hello again,

Here is one potential networking solution for your consideration: