Skip to content
rukarin's profile

• 

2 Messages

Saturday, February 1st, 2014 3:00 PM

SMC business class gateway in bridge mode with Static IPs

Hi,

I am trying to use the firewall, VPN, VLAN etc. features on a Cisco 881 router instead of those provided on my SMC business class gateway.

However, I am confused as to how to proceed with this while routing my public static IPs (I am paying for 5 from Cocmast) to devices behind my Cisco 881 router's NAT. I am no expert at this, but it seems that I cannot put my SMC gateway in complete bridge mode (i.e. disable its NAT) since it would not be able to route the public static IPs.

Can someone please confirm to me the appropriate approach and the pros/cons?

Thanks

Accepted Solution

• 

2 Messages

11 years ago

I have the same setup, SMC and /29 static IPs and I'm running my own firewall box inside.

The key is that to use the static IPs you do NOT run in bridged mode. You will assign IPs statically to any equipment which plugs directly into the SMC. The last IP in the group of ips they gave you is your gateway(the individual IPs in the group are consectutive)

Also, in the modem, Firewall tab check the box for :

• Disable Firewall for True Static IP Subnet Only
  • Disabled Gateway Smart Packet Detection

While still on the Firewall section, select the "Port Configuration" tab:

Now, one at a time click all the links for

•     Port Forwarding
  •     Port Triggering
  •     Port Blocking
  •     True Static IP Port Management

and check the box on the subsequent pages to disable each of those features. I'm not sure if this part is necessary after having checked the "Disable Firewall for True Static IP Subnet Only" above (but it won't hurt and that's how mine is running)

Basically you want the modem operating "dumb" with everything passing through to your firewall. This is the routed "equivalent" of bridged mode where everything gets through.